RSS

Christmas Eve Run

24 Dec

I was supposed to run with a group at Chestnut Ridge park this morning, but late last evening I got a text that my friend I usually go with couldn’t make it, and that the people we usually hang with while running all had to cancel for various reasons.  I happened to mention this to another runner friend at a Christmas party last night, and he invited me to join them at Losson Park to run the trails this morning.

It turned out to be one of my most awesome runs this year!  It was a chilly 20 degrees, but there was no snow and very little ice, no wind, and it was gorgeously sunny.  I’d run at this park before, but never back on the trails (since I typically run alone and that doesn’t seem the safest idea to me).  We ended up running just over 7 miles through the woods, past a pretty little creek.  We had hoped to see some deer or fox, but ended up only seeing a few ducks hanging out in the water.

Afterwards, we all went back to one guy’s house for bagels and fruit, tea, chocolate milk and …… he gave each of us a package of sponge candy for Christmas!! YUM!!

The best part: another newcomer, Mark, joined us this morning too.  He was super friendly and told us all stories of running Boston and many other marathons.  We realized at the end of the run, though …. none of us actually knew who he was!  Throughout the seven miles, we each figured that one of the others had invited him along.  What I loved was how a perfect stranger could join up with our group, fit right in, and feel right at home with all of us.  I think that level of acceptance and openness is one thing that defines a runner.

Happy Holidays, all!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
